Menu
Log in


Corinne G. Tracy


What clay body do you use?

"Balcones for cone 10 firings and Cinco Blanco for cone 5 firings."


Primary forming method?

"Throwing and hand-building"


Primary firing temperature?

"Cone 10 reduction and cone 5"


Favorite surface treatment?

"Love to texture, texture and texture and I have also started experimenting with the Majolica technique."




























Favorite Tools?

" Textured wooden rollers such as those manufactured from “MKM”."




Describe your studio environment.

"I attend studio classes and enjoy sharing ideas with other talented artists/potters.  I also have my own private studio at home."



















How/Where do you market and sell your artwork?

"Mostly word of mouth but I also participate in art shows."












 






What sparks your creativity? What drives you to work with clay?

" Seeing a particular form that is attractive or appealing to you and then translating that form with clay."              



















Did you come to ceramics from a different career? Tell us about your journey to a ceramics career.

      "Working with clay has always been something that has fascinated me since childhood.  I made a commitment that when I would have the time to devote and invest a good portion of my life I would start this journey.  So in 2007 that opportunity came about and I signed up for classes at Foelber Pottery Studio in Houston and ever since then it has been non-stop.  The entire process of taking a lump of clay from start to finish has been so rewarding in the sense of accomplishments and yes I have patted myself on the back numerous times."




















      How have you have taken your experience as a well-established maker in the field and passed that knowledge along to your other artists?

      " I am always searching the web for new and old techniques as well as experimenting with all the tools being developed to expand in creativity in working with clay. I also take great enjoyment and satisfaction in passing and sharing these tips to my follow artists/potters in the studio."















      What’s the best advice you’ve been given by a fellow maker, mentor, or teacher?

        The three “P” – Patience, Perseverance and lots of Practice."
















        Email Artist

        Bio:

        Born in Charleroi, Belgium and came to the U.S. at age 5.
        Grew up and attended schools in Houston and at every opportunity took art classes.
        Graduated from the University of St. Thomas with a Bachelor of Arts degree.  In 2007 and to present date I have attended pottery classes at Foelber Pottery Studio.

          clayhouston

          Address:
          PO Box 667401
          Houston, TX 77266

          Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software